To popularize Cricket throughout the country.
To start up and develop school, college and club crickets.
To manage cricket on a scientific base.
To conduct annual inter regional tournaments for U-15, U-17, U-19 and Seniors.
To make Nepal a Himalayan destination for Cricket.
To start and support inter-district Cricket championships.
To enhance relations with Asian Regional Academics and send Cricketers for higher training.
To enhance relations with regional Cricketing authority of South Asia.
To make arrangements for competitions with 'A' Level Teams and Senior Division Club Teams from India, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
To establish regional development offices.
To start two-day Cricket matches between regions and districts.
IT Development.
Higher Training for Players, Administrators, Coaches and Umpires.
Innovative activities for the development, promotion and regulation of Cricket in areas where Cricket has not been played before.


Sector Identificaton for Development

Cricket Stadium
Practice Pitches
Inter and Intra Regional Tournament promotion
Fitness Centre
Indoor Practice Facilities
Popularisation Programs-Cricket Week etc
Talent Hunting
Grass root Cricket Development policies
Development Plan
For the development of Cricket in Nepal, six Development Regions have been formed. They are:
Development Region-1 consists of following Districts: Jhapa, Morang, Sunsari, Saptari, Siraha, Ilam, Dhankuta & Udayapur districts. Zone: Sagarmatha, Koshi and Mechi
Development Region-2 consists of the following Districts: Dhanusa, Mahottari, Sarlahi, Parsa, Bara, Rawtahat, Sindhuli & Makawanpur districts. Zone: Narayani and Janakpur.
Development Region-3 consists of the following Districts and Bodies: Kathmandu, Lalitpur, Bhakltapur, Nuwakot, Dhading, TU & Kavrepalanchowk districts. Zone: Bagmati
Development Region-4 consists of the following Districts: Rupendehi, Kaski, Chitwan, Palpa, Rupandehi, Kapilbastu, Nawalparasi, Tanahun & Syanja district. Zone : Gandaki, Lumbini and Dhaulagiri
Development Region-5 consists of the following Districts: Banke, Darchula, Kanchanpur, Surkhet, Dang, Bardiya & Doti districts. Zone: Bheri, Rapti and Karnali
Development Region-6 consists of the following Districts: Kailali, Baitedi, Kanchanpur & Doti. Zone: Mahakali and Seti
Secretariot of each Development Region is Located at their headquarter:
Development Region-1 Biratnagar.
Development Region-2 Birgunj.
Development Region-3 Kathmandu
Development Region-4 Bhairahawa
Development Region-5 Nepalgunj.
Development Region-6 Baitedi
These Development Regions will coordinate with Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) to formulate development plans for their regions and implement them upon CAN's approval. The functions of Regional Development Boards will be to develop cricket and popularise it in their region; develop infrastructures and train players at various levels. While developing Cricket in these regions, more emphasis would be laid on grassroots development of the game at school level while providing trainings to Umpires and coaches. In order to sustain the ongoing development and regulation of Cricket in these regions, all six Cricket Development Regions would need to source funds locally to support their various activities in a self-sufficient manner.

Development Map of Nepal has been prepared with the objective of highlighting areas where cricket is played and to give stage-wise development plans of introducing the game in new areas. The plan emphasizes to develop the standard of the game by proving better training facilities in the marked areas and stage-wise development in the other areas.

Cricket Association of Nepal, along with its Regional and District level organizations, will provide land to these regions for the development of cricketing facilities and coaches and umpires with salaries cum benefits to implement Cricket development activities. Regional funds will also be generated as per capacity for the procurement of equipments and training materials. But since local resources are limited, certain funds would be provided to procure equipments, materials for Ground Development and resources to coach players.

CAN Members

Organisation of Cricket Association of Nepal

Mr. Jai Kumar Nath Shah
Vice President:
Mr. T. B. Shah
Mr. Shriharsh Koirala Mr. Binaya R. Pandey Mr. Shriniwas Rana
Hony. Secretary:
Mr. Pradeep R. Pandey
Mr. Shashi R. Subedi
Joint Secretary:
Mr. Laxman Bastola
Executive Members:
Mr. U. Bhattarai
Mr. Uday S. Thapa
Mr. Tarakmani Dixit
Mr. Amrit S. Thapa
Mr. Arab Shah
Mr. Ashok Pyakuryal
Mr. Basanta R. Satyal
Mr. Pradip K. Karki
Mr. Kiran Rana
MR. Shyam Khetan
Mr. Ranjeet Rana
Mr. L. B. Chhetri
Mr. Diwakar Ghale
Mr. S. S. Mishra
Mr. Chatur B Chand
Mr. Minal Pandey
Mr. Man K. Shrestha, Representative Sports Development Division, NSC
Organisation of Cricket Development Regions
Region 1
Region 2
Region 3
Region 4
Region 5
Region 6
Mr. S. Koirala
Mr. T. B. Shah
Mr.Shriniwas Rana
Mr.Tarak Dixit
Mr. L. B. Chhetri
Mr. Chatur Chand
Vice President
Vice President
Vice President
Vice President  
Mr. N. K. Rathi
Mr. D. Ansari
Mr. G. Chhetri
Mr. R. Tandon  
Secretary Secretary   Secretary Secretary  
Mr. N. P. Rizal Mr. M. Chachan   Mr. S. Khan Mr. S. S. Himal  
Treasurer Treasurer   Treasurer Joint Secretary  
Mr. A. K. Shah Mr. M. Adhikari   Mr. S. Sarkar Mr. I. Siddiqui  
Members Members   Members Treasurer  
Mr. R. Das Mr. N. Agrawal Mr. S. Sarkar Mr. R. Tandon
Mr. B.B. Pradhan Mr. U. Karmachharya Mr. J. Tamatta Members
Mr. A. Regmi Mr. D. K. Chaudhary Dr. B. S. Gurung Mr. S. Singh
Mr A. Agrawal Mr. K. Udash Mr. U. Nepal Mr. U. Shrestha
Mr. B. Thakur Mr. U. Upadhyay Mr. S. Gurung Mr. D. P. Singh
Mr. D. Shrestha Mr. L. B. Prasad Mr. S. Piya Mr. J. R. Malla
Mr. M. Alam Mr. M. Karmachharya Mr. D. Praju Mr. C. Dhital
Mr. P. Surana Rautahat Rep Mz. A. Gurung
Mr. M. Raju Makwanpur Rep Mr. D. Giri
Mr. N. Rijal Mr. U. Bhattarai  
© CAN, Cricket Association Of Nepal 2004